Posts Tagged ‘FIBA ASIA’

Team Nepal for the 1st SABA 3x3 basketball Championship

Team Nepal for the 1st SABA 3×3 basketball Championship

1st SABA 3X3 Basketball Championship from 14th April to the 16th April 2014 – Dhaka, Bangladesh

Match schedule is in Dhaka local time.

15th April 2014

Game #1 Bangladesh VS Bhutan – at 3:00pm
Game #2 Nepal VS Sri Lanka– at 4:00pm
Game #3 Maldives VS Bhutan– at 4:30pm
Game #4 Bangladesh VS Sri Lanka– at 5:00pm
Game #5 Nepal Vs Maldives– at 5:30pm
Game #6 Sri Lanka VS Bhutan– at 6:00pm
Game #7 Bangladesh VS Nepal– at 6:30pm

14th April 2014

Game #8 Sri Lanka VS Maldives– at 2:30pm
Game #9 Nepal VS Bhutan– at 3:00pm
Game #10 Bangladesh VS Maldives – at 4:00pm

Team Nepal for 1st South Asian 3x3 Basketball Championship

Team Nepal for 1st South Asian 3×3 Basketball Championship

Nepal National Men’s 3×3 basketball team leave for Dhaka, Bangladesh to participate in the 1st South Asian 3X3 Basketball Championship to be held from the 14th April to the 17th April 2014.

Players are of the Team Nepal are Sadish Pradhan, Sushil Gurung, Yukta Bhakta Mathema and Bikram Joshi. Officials accompanying the Team Nepal are Narendra Thapa & Bikash Shahi.

The draw for the 2014 FIBA U17 World Championship was held in Dubai, United Arab Emirates (UAE), ahead of this summer’s tournament that will take place in the emirate from 8 to 16 August, 2014.

FIBA U17 Men Draw (Source: FIBA)

FIBA U17 Men Draw (Source: FIBA)

Here are the pots for the Draw of Spain2014 which will determine the four Preliminary Round groups of 2014 FIBA WorldCup World Cup which will take place in Spain from 30 August to 14 September 2014.

Photo Courtesy: FIBA

Photo Courtesy: FIBA

The 24 teams have been classified on the basis of the FIBA Ranking Men as well as geographical principles with teams from the same continent being evenly distributed in six teams pots. Teams will be picked from these pots and placed into the four Preliminary Round groups – A, B, C and D.

Pot 1: This pot consists of the top four teams in FIBA’s Men Ranking (#1 USA; #2 Spain; #3 Argentina; #4 Lithuania).
Pot 2: Angola, Egypt, Senegal and Finland.
Pot 3: Iran, Korea, Philippines and New Zealand.
Pot 4: Croatia, Serbia, Slovenia and Ukraine.
Pot 5: Brazil, Dominican Republic, Mexico and Puerto Rico.
Pot 6: Australia, France, Greece and Turkey.

Spain will be in Group A while USA will be in Group C. Argentina and Lithuania will be drawn into either Group B or Group D.


Nepal Basketball Association, a FIBA affiliate and governing body of Basketball in Nepal, is all set to host the 3rd SABA (South Association Basketball Association) Men’s Basketball championship at Nepalese Capitol city, Kathmandu from 24 April to 28 April 2014.

Total of 8 South Asian countries are participating in the elite basketball event of the sub-continent.

The South Asian Basketball Association (SABA), a body of eight South Asian countries, is the organizer of the event while it will be hosted by Nepal Basketball Association.

The first edition of the championship was held in the Indian state of Assam in 2002. Then, hosts India drubbed Bangladesh 139:34 to win the title. The second edition of the championship was held in January 2013 at Bangladesh with hosts winning the second edition.



Hosts IEC Thapathali Campus lifted the Title of 1st Inter technical Thapathali Cup after beating CIT College 46 – 32 in the final match of the tournament played at Kathmandu, Nepal.

Nishant Sedhain of hosts was the best player of the final as he made 4 blocks, 2 steal and 14 rebounds in the final to help his team win the title. Nishant Sedhain was later judged the Most Valuable player of the the tournament. Bikash Gurung of the hosts was highest Scorer of the tournament with average 17.6 Points per Game.

The tournament was organized among the Engineering colleges of Nepal to build cooperation and understanding among the technical students of the country.

The first edition saw 12 teams participating for the honors.



CCRC and Prime win the boys and girls title respectively of the 11th Prime Cup here at Kathmandu, Nepal.

Below are the results of the final

Final-1: Category: Boys
CCRC (58) Vs. Times (56)
Qtr1: 19-11
Qtr2: 11-12
Qtr3: 16-11
Qtr4: 12-22
Winner: CCRC
Highest Score:
CCRC : Himal Tamang (18)
Times: Bijay Tamang (26)

Final-2: Category: Girls
Prime (44) Vs. Gurukul (31)
Qtr1: 8-7
Qtr2: 10-5
Qtr3: 13-9
Qtr4: 13-10
Winner: Prime
Highest Score:
Prime: Sneha Shrestha (17)
Gurukul: Preeti Tulachan (14)


Most Valuable Players


  • Sneha Shrestha: prime college (girls)
  • Kiran Pun: CCRC (boys)