How Teams qualify for Spain 2014

24 countries will be qualified as following for the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup.

  • 1 Host (Spain)
  • 1 Spot for the gold medalist from the previous 2012 London Olympic Games (USA)
  • 6 Spot for FIBA Europe (top six teams at 2013 EuroBasket, excluding Spain)
  • 4 Spot for FIBA Americas (top four teams at 2013 FIBA Americas Championship)
  • 3 Spot for FIBA Africa (top three teams at 2013 Afrobasket)
  • 3 Spot for FIBA Asia (top three teams at 2013 FIBA Asia Championship – Iran, Philippines and Korea)
  • 2 Spot for FIBA Oceania (winner and runner-up at 2013 FIBA Oceania Championship – Australia and New Zealand)
  • 4 wildcards (invited teams) to be decided by FIBA

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s