Archive for September, 2013


Daffodil Public School and Radiant Public School bagged the title of senior boys and junior boys category of the recently concluded 3rd Excelsior Cup Inter-School Basketball tournament at Nepalese capitol city, Kathmandu.

In the dramatic senior boys final, Ammen Tamang scored the last second buzzer-beater 3-pointer to help Daffodil beat NIMS School 47 – 46 to lift the title. Ammen Tamang was declared MVP of the senior boys category of the tournament.

Similarly, in junior boys category, Radiant Public School bagged 3rd The Excelsior cup tittle beating the host team The Excelsior 37-24. Ajay Khatri of Radiant school was declared MVP in junior boys category.

Total of 36 schools in senior boys category and 24 schools in junior boys category participated in the competition that was organized by The Excelsior School, Kathmandu, Nepal.

Following Teams are Qualified For 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup from 2013 EuroBasket

  1. France
  2. Lithuania
  3. Spain
  4. Croatia
  5. Slovenia
  6. Ukraine
  7. Serbia

Best 5 Players of 2013 EuroBasket

  1. PG – Tony Parker (France)
  2. SG – Goran Dragic (Slovenia)
  3. SF – Bojan Bogdanovic (Croatia)
  4. PF – Linas Kleiza (Lithuania)
  5. C – Marc Gasol (Spain)
BEST 5 players of 2013 EuroBasket

BEST 5 players of 2013 EuroBasket

Tony Parker of France was named the EuroBasket 2013 MVP.

TONY Parker

TONY Parker




France win 2013 EuroBasket title after defeating Lithuania 80-66 in the final the 38th edition of the FIBA Europe championship for Men (also known as 2013 EuroBasket).

Third Excelsior Cup Inter-School Basketball Tournament has started in Kathmandu, Nepal.


On the opening day of the tournament, Arunodaya SChool and defending champions Niten Memorial School (NIMS) won their respective boys’ section matches. Arunodaya School beat Saraswoti School 38-22 with Rajan Lama scoring 20 points, while Bikash Nakarmi posted game high 14 points as NIMS saw off Skylark School 55-40. Excelsior School, Deep Jyoti School, Daffodil School and NIMS recorded wins in junior boys’ section matches.

The Winners

The Winners

Plumstead Basketball Team beat Farnborough Ballers  to win the Boys category title while Sirens beat Skyliners to win the Girls category title of the Nepalese Aldershot Basketball Tournament held in Aldershot, UK.  Arun Gurung of Farnborough Ballers and Samita Shahi from The Sirens were declared MVP in boys and girls category respectively.


Pushpa Sadan School and Valley Public School won the boys and girls titles respectively of the sixth LRI inter-school basketball tournament. Pushpa Sadan School came back from behind to stunned the host LRI School 59-54 and win the boys title. Nischal Maharjan netted game-high 23 points for the winning team. While in the girls’ final, Valley Public School beat Gyanodaya School 43-32 win the title. Laxmi netted 14 points to help Valley Public win the girls title.

Raj Kunwar of LRI School and Soniya Limbu of Valley Public school were declared the most valuable player in the boys’ and girls’ section respectively. Nischal Maharjan of Pushpa Sadan School and Gautami Bhattachan of Gyanodaya School won the highest scorer awards in the boys´ and girls´ sections respectively.

Meanwhile, Baba School and host LRI School finished third in the boys’ and girls’ sections respectively. In the boys’ third-place playoff, Baba School defeated The Excelsior SChool 52-41 with 20 points from Finju Sherpa. In the girls’ section third place playoff, LRI School beat Shridiwa School 19-10 to secure third position. Suprigya Karki contributed the highest nine points for LRI School.

LRI Higher Secondary School, Kathmandu is the organizer of the Inter-school Basketball Tournament. The tournament was organized to celebrate its silver jubilee.

Nabin Adhikari of St. Xavier’s College declared MVP of the First St. Xaviers Bachelors Cup Basketball Tournament

MVP Nabin Adhikari

MVP Nabin Adhikari

The winners: St. Xaviers College

The winners: St. Xaviers College

Hosts St. Xaviers College beat Ace Institute of Management to win the title of the 1st St. Xaviers Cup Basketball tournament.

FINAL RESULT:  St. Xaviers beat Ace 44 – 31

ACE = 31 points (6, 8, 7, 10)

ST. XAVIER’S = 44 points (9, 13, 13, 8)

Highest Scorer of the Final = Nabin Adhikari (St. Xavier’s College) = 24 points

Most Valuable Player Of The Tournament = Nabin Adhikari (St. Xavier’s College)