Archive for December, 2012

Trinity International College ´A´ and Saipal Academy lifted the title of Third Trinity A-Level Inter-college 3×3 Basketball Tournamentin the boys´ and girls category respectively. Prateek Lama scored 17 points to guide Trinity to a 21-13 win over Rupy´s International in the final while Saipal Academy claimed the title in the girls´ section defeating Rupy´s 7-2.


Most probably the biggest Nepalese basketball event organized in foreign country by the Farnborough Ballers (UK), a club established by Nepalese youth living in Farnborough, UK has concluded. The tournament titled “December 2 Remember” on the occassion and to celebrate Merry Christmas and Happy New Year was organized at The Wavell School,GU14 6BH Farnborough, Hampshire, UK.

Total of 18 Men’s and 4 Girls teams participated in the tournament. The tournament saw some former National players of Nepal naming Rupak Gurung, Manoj Sherchan and Amir Ghale in action from various clubs. While the women’s players like Alisha Ghale, Rekha Tamang showed their skills through their respective clubs.

The two-day highly skilled and well organized torunament saw Brigade Boy’s Club (RED) beating Maidstone Titans 30 – 22 to win the Men’s title while Sirens beat Blizzards 18 – 15 to win the women’s title.

Rupak Gurung (former Nepal National team member) was declered MVP in the Men’s category while Rekha Tamang was declared MVP in the Women’s category.


Saipal Academy and Rupy’s International College entered the girls’ section final of the third Trinity ‘A’ Level Inter-college 3×3 Basketball Championship. Saipal Academy registered four victories to top the group in the five-team tournament. Rupy’s, meanwhile, finished as runners-up after winning two matches. Rupy’s and Trinity ‘A’ set the boys’ section final date. Rupy’s saw off Orient 16-13 and Trinity dispatched their ‘B’ team 11-5.

Gyan Niketan School beat Nawajeevan School 31-23in the boys´ section match of 10th TIA Cup Inter-school Basketball Tournament while Valley Public school beat Himalaya School 52-32 and KISC beat Bhadrakali 41-31. Baba recorded a 45-34 victory over HIMS and Kathmandu Valley beat Greenland 31-27 while Innovative edged past Minar 37-27. In the girls´ section, host Trungram International Academy (TIA) beat Teresa Academy 20-12 and Daffodil defeated Mt Kailash 13-9.

NeBA Seasons Greetings


Basketball Official training concluded in Dharan. Jointly organized by Dharan Basketball Association and Sunsari Basketball Association. NeBA Senior VP Mr. Narendra Thapa conducted the clinic.


Kathmandu Valley School won the Senior Boys title while Innovative School won Junior Boys Title of the Second Neric-Zenith Inter-school Basketball Tournament. Kathmandu Valley School beat Innovative School 37-36 in the thrilling match to lift the senior boys title. Ang Chiring Sherpa of Kathmandu Valley was adjudged the Most Valuable Player (MVP). Innovative School later won the junior boys´ title. Meanwhile, Teresa Academy clinched the title in the senior girls´ section defeating Valley Public School 26-19. Sarita Thapa, who was declared the MVP.


Rarahil School won the title of 1st Palistha manandhar Memorial Inter-school 3X3 basketball tournament beating New Zenith school by 13-11. Despite the tough fight by New Zenith School, Rarahil hold their nerve to win the 1st ediion of the championship. Himal Tamang from Rarahil Memorial School was awarded a set of Karbonn Mobile for his excellent performance in the tournament making him the MVP.

The tournament was organized by Friends of Late Palistha Manandhar who passed away in the accident. The tournament was organized remember the disciplined student and basketball lover, late Ms. Palistha Manandhar.

The tournament was organized on Rarahill school, where Late Palistha Manandhar was studying.

The senior girls´ teams of Teresa Academy and Valley Public School entered the final of the Second Neric-Zenith Inter-school Basketball Tournament winning their respective matches. Teresa Academy defeated Galaxy Public School 27-11 while Valley Public School thrashed Mount Kailash 23-7. In the senior boys´ category, Kathmandu Valley School Defeated Mount Glory School 43-23 as Innovative defeated Wilson Academy 64-34 to secure their place in the final.

Trinity International College lifted the title of the fifth edition of Sahid Benoj Memorial Inter-college (+2) Basketball Tournament on Wednesday. Trinity defeated National Campus 49-38 in the final held at the covered hall of the Dasharath Stadium to add their recent title of Prie Cup. Trinity´s Krishna Maharjan, who was later adjudged the Most Valuable Player, scored 13 points for the winning team.
He bagged a cash prize of Rs 10,000. The winning team was awarded Rs 50,000 while the runner-up received Rs 30,000. In the third-place playoff, Prime College defeated VS Niketan 55-49 to finish third.