Archive for December, 2011

Robin Khatri inspired NASA International College edged Premier College 63-61 to claim the first Sachindra Memorial Men’s Open Basketball Tournament here today.

In the championship match held at the Nepal Commerce Campus premises, Premier managed to go into the second half with a one-point lead but Robin ran riot on their lose defence thereafter scoring at will to hand his team a well deserved victory.

Premier included five national players — Sadish Pradhan, Rajeev Joshi, Yukta Ram Bhakta Mathema, Bikram Joshi and Vinod Shrestha — in their set and they opened with 13-11 lead.

NASA, however, cut the deficit in the second quarter scoring 15 to that of 14 from Premier, whose defence crumbled in the third period. Robin poured in a three-pointer scoring nine points in the third quarter that saw NASA go into the decider with 45-40 lead. NASA built a nine-point cushion halfway to the final quarter making it 51-42 and from there on there was no stopping for the eventual champions.

With 1:44 minutes left on the clock, Premier — who added more points than NASA in the final quarter — managed to come close to NASA’s feet stealing time through intentional fouls with ‘flag on’ on their side but by then it was too late for them. Premier scored 21 points in the fourth period, while NASA added 18. Robin ended up with a match-high 28 points, while tournament Most Valuable Player Rupak Gurung netted 12 points.

Sadish scored 19 and Rajeev posted 12 points for the losing side. The tournament was organised in the memory of Sachindra Shrestha – a Tara air pilot who lost in life in a crash on December 5.

Trungram International Academy (TIA) and Mt Glory School claimed the second Tenda-AIA Inter-school Basketball Tournament titles here on Saturday. In girls’ section final, TIA defeated Galaxy Public School 19-12 with Pramita Malla netting 14 points. Likewise, Dipesh Lama and Shyam Thapa scored eight points each as Mt Glory beat Odyssey 25-16 in junior boys’ section final. Teresa and Greenland finished third in the girls and boys’ sections respectively. Riya Thapa of TIA and Ashok Pyakurel of Odyssey were declared the Most Valuable Players.

One of the good basketball player, a dedicated & honest friend; SACHINDRA SHRESTHA (Pilot by profession) left us last year when he died in the TARA AIR crash.

After a year of his death to remember him & to tribute to great friend; “Friends of Sachindra” & Nepal commerce campus (NCC) is going to organize SACHINDRA MEMERIAL Basketball Championship from 11 Dec 2011 at the court of NCC

Total of 8 men’s teams are participating in the SACHINDRA MEMERIAL Basketball Championship.

Group A: NCC “A”, Goldengate, Premier, NASA

Group B: NCC “B”, Morgan, Vanimandal, Bajra International College

Group winners and runners up will enter SF.

We would like to convey our tribute to our great friend and basketball player Late. SACHINDRA SHRESTHA.

May you soul rest in peace.

Host TIA lifted the titles of both boys´ & girls´ categories of the ninth TIA Inter School Basketball Tournament on Friday. In the boys´ category, TIA registered a narrow 25-24 win over Daffodil. Abhishek Gurung, who was later adjudged the Most Valuable Player (MVP), scored nine points for the winning team. In the girls´ category, TIA beat Mahendra Bhawan 19-16 as Pratima Malla scored 13 points. Malla was declared the MVP.